On finding yourself

I remember one of the first times I felt like I found something I loved doing. I was a high school sophomore in one of my favorite classes, The Basics of Web Design. When I look back on it now, it’s comical to think of the page I was creating. Overpopulated and messy as it was, I remember how it all just kind of made sense. Design, to me, is a big puzzle. You’re given content, whether text, photos, or a combination of both, and you’re to make it come alive. You start with a blank canvas, slowly adding piece by piece, making sure it all fits together just right. And what an amazing, accomplished feeling it is when you finally do reach completion.

That’s the same feeling I get when I travel. Though overwhelming at first, your experiences traveling start to come together one by one, adventure by adventure. Your memories string together to tell an incredible story and you start to see just how much it changes you. I’m infinitely curious about the world that surrounds me and the people that inhabit it. This curiosity has stayed with me ever since going abroad for the first time, throughout 23 countries and countless cities. I have met incredible people that have influenced me with hours of conversation or a simple few words. I made a promise to myself that I will always, no matter the circumstance, feed my passion to find myself in other places and other people.

So discover what you’re passionate about. Spend hours upon hours doing it. It has been said that an expert becomes an expert after 10,000 hours of practice. If you were to practice that something you love for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, it would take you 1,750 days to become a true master of this skill. That’s 4.79 years. In less than 5 years, you would likely have true expertise within a given field, because you discovered something you were passionate about and you were relentless in your goal to pursue it.

Don’t be passive about the gifts you are given.

Don’t let an opportunity pass you by to try something new due to fear of the unknown.

Find yourself and find what you love doing.

One thought on “On finding yourself

Leave a Reply

